As a sommelier, Brides ask me for wine recommendations often, but I always want to fine-tune my recommendations based on the couple. What do they love, is there a theme for the food at their wedding, where are they traveling to on their honeymoon, etc…. When I’m planning an event for myself or friends I want the wines to speak, to share a little of my husband and I or places I’ve been with my friends. So, what do you love? Where have you and your fiancee traveled together, or where are you traveling for your honeymoon? To give you a few examples, this is what I planned for my wedding wines…. I love ITALIAN Wine and we were leaving the day after the wedding for 8 days in Northern Italy. So, with that in mind, we wanted to take people on our Italian tour. So, we started with a Prosecco Reception with Italian Cheeses, then sat for a  Family-Style Dinner (32 people at one long table) with a White and Two Red wines with Dinner….

Manincor, Moscato Giallo – One of my husband’s & my favorite whites!! A dry Moscato from Alto Adige in Northern Italy, where we honeymooned…

This 1997 Barbaresco Riserva from Dante Rivetti was PHENOMENAL with our Italian-style Pork Roast with Fennel and Balsamico. We stayed in Piedmont for the first half of our honeymoon…

We chose a 3 Liter (equal to 4 btls of wine) of Castello Romitorio, Brunello di Montalcino for our Main Course…

…And as Mac would say, “A good time was had by all….”

If you’re looking to do something creative with your food and wine menu, let me know…I’d love to craft a special menu to compliment your personalities and theme.

-Cin Cin!

 

